The lost street children

of the Kibera slum of Nairobi

Message sent successfully!

Kibera, which is located in the southwest of Nairobi, was formerly the largest slum in Africa. Probably over a million people live here in unworthy conditions. Every single life story of the children here is an abyss. Alcohol abuse, drugs and prostitution are the order of the day to make the unbearable somewhat bearable. The misery of children alienates us. "You can't do anything about it anyway". These are some of the statements. You try to calm your conscience. We live in a safe country and can give our children an optimal start in life. The children don't get a chance in the slums of Kibera.

We visitedBeatrice Marongo, directorof theFruitful Talent Center, a kind of boarding school in Kibera. It is a poor building made of plywood and corrugated iron, but the colorful paintwork makes it stand out from the rusty monotonous Kiberas. There is a bedroom for the 13 boys and one for the 18 girls, with three-story bunk beds. The roof is running down. When it rains at night, the children - especially those in the top bunk beds and those on the mats on the floor - have to be covered with plastic sheeting. In the backyard they take turns cooking for the whole community. There is a classroom where everyone is taught together.

How does PnCG support the “Fruitful Talent Center” life raft?

With our modest means, we convert the building inconspicuously so that the children can sleep dry. We also donate cooking utensils that make it easier for the approx. 31 children and four supervisors or teachers to eat. We also provide school documents. All of this is a drop in the bucket. It is, however, a hope and a place to stay for the street children who are present. The children are taught. Learn to read and write. However, our modest means are by no means sufficient to move what we have set ourselves the goal.

Our donations are almost always donations in kind, as money is by no means safe in Kibera. Even donations in kind should not attract attention in order not to attract unwanted workers. We are fortunate that our donations arrive directly and are used wisely. It is moving to see how the street children in the life raft“Fruitful Talent Center” are happy about the smallest donations. Let's give them a chance!

Die verlornen Strassenkinder

des Kibera-Slums von Nairobi

Kibera, das im Südwesten von Nairobi liegt, galt früher als grösster Slum Afrikas. Wahrscheinlich leben über eine Million Menschen unter unwürdigen Bedingungen hier. Jede einzelne Lebensgeschichte der Kinder hier ist ein Abgrund. Alkoholmissbrauch, Drogen und Prostitution sind an der Tagesordnung um das Unerträgliche einigermassen erträglich zu machen. Das Elend von Kindern befremdet uns. "Man kann ja eh nichts dagegen tun". So lauten einige Aussagen. Man versucht, sein Gewissen zu beruhigen. Wir leben in einem sicheren Land und können unseren Kindern einen optimalen Start ins Leben geben. In den Slums von Kibera bekommen die Kinder keine Chance.

 

Wir haben die Leiterin Beatrice Marongo von der Rettungsinsel «Fruitful Talent Centre» besucht, eine Art Internat in Kibera. Es ist ein ärmliches Gebäude aus Sperrholz und Wellblech, das jedoch durch die bunte Bemalung vom rostigen einerlei Kiberas absticht. Es gibt einen Schlafraum für die 13 Knaben und einen für die 18 Mädchen, mit dreistöckigen Kajütenbetten. Das Dach rinnt. Wenn es nachts regnet, müssen die Kinder – vor allem jene in den obersten Etagenbetten und jene auf den Matten am Boden – mit Plastikplanen zugedeckt werden. Im Hinterhof kochen sie abwechslungsweise für die ganze Gemeinschaft. Es gibt ein Schulzimmer, in dem alle zusammen unterrichtet werden. 

Wie unterstützt die PnCG die Rettungsinsel «Fruitful Talent Centre»?

Wir bauen mit unseren bescheidenen Mitteln das Gebäude unauffällig so um, dass die Kinder im trockenen Schlafen können. Weiter spenden wir Kochutensilien, die die Verpflegung der ca. 31 Kinder und vier Aufsichtspersonen bzw. der Lehrer erleichtert. Zusätzlich stellen wir Schulunterlagen zur Verfügung. All das ist ein Tropfen auf den heissen Stein. Es ist bedeutet jedoch für die anwesenden Strassenkinder eine Hoffnung und eine Bleibe. Die Kinder werden unterrichtet. Lernen Lesen und Schreiben. Unsere bescheidenen Mittel reichen jedoch bei Weitem nicht aus, um das zu bewegen was wir uns zum Ziel gesteckt haben. 

Unsere Spenden sind fast immer Sachspenden, da Geld in Kibera auf keinen Fall sicher ist. Selbst Sachspenden dürfen nicht auffallen, um keine ungewünschten Kräfte anzuziehen. Wir haben das Glück, dass unsere Spenden direkt ankommen und vernünftig eingesetzt werden. Es ist ergreifend zu sehen wie sich die Strassenkinder in der Rettungsinsel «Fruitful Talent Centre» über kleinste Zuwendungen freuen. Geben wir ihnen eine Chance!

© 2014 by Private & Confidential PnCG Group GenossenschaftTM - ZENTRUM-RIEDPARK - Zürcherstrasse 17 - 8173 NEERACH - ZÜRICH - SWITZERLAND

+41 433 10 90 FON - +41 433 10 98 FAX -  info@pncg.org - www.pncg.org